Product Image Requirements by Marketplace

Product image requirements differ by marketplace: Walmart wants 2200 pixel squares, Etsy wants a landscape or square first photo, and eBay bans text on photos that Amazon allows in its additional image slots. Here are the rules for Amazon, Amazon A+ Content, Etsy, Shopify, eBay, Walmart and TikTok Shop side by side, each checked on the marketplace's own help pages on October 27, 2026.

Short answer: a square 2200 x 2200 pixel JPEG on pure white, under 5 MB, meets the size and background rules of Amazon, Walmart and TikTok Shop and the size recommendations of Shopify, eBay and Etsy. What changes from one marketplace to the next is text on images, the number of photos, and the rules for AI.

Image requirements compared

Key specs as of October 2026. Each marketplace name links to the full rules, checklist and sources.

Product image requirements by marketplace, checked October 27, 2026
MarketplaceMinimum sizeRecommended sizeShapeFile typesMax file sizeMain image backgroundImages per listing
Amazon500 px on the longest side1,000 px or more, for zoomNot fixedJPEG, TIFF, PNG, GIF (not animated)Not stated in Amazon's image guidePure white, RGB 2551 main, plus 6 or more and a video recommended
Amazon A+ ContentShown per moduleBasic 970 x 300, Premium 1464 x 600Per moduleJPG, PNG, BMPUnder 2 MBNo rule5 modules (Basic), 7 (Premium)
Etsy635 px wide and tall (first photo)2000 px or more wide and tallLandscape or square first photoJPG, PNG, GIF, SVG, HEICOver 1 MB may not finish uploading on slow connectionsNo rule; one unedited photo on a real background requiredUp to 20, plus 2 videos
ShopifyNot stated2048 x 2048 for square imagesOne ratio for all featured imagesPNG, JPEG, plus TIFF, BMP, GIF, SVG, HEIC, WebP20 MBNo ruleUp to 250 media
eBay500 px on the longest sideAbout 1600 x 16001:1 or 16:9 look bestJPEG, PNG, GIF, TIFF, BMP, WEBP, HEIC, AVIF12 MBWhite generally bestUp to 24
Walmart1500 x 1500 for zoom2200 x 22001:1JPEG, JPG, PNG, BMP5 MBSeamless white, RGB 2554 or more recommended
TikTok Shop600 x 600Over 600 x 600, 5 or more imagesSquareJPG, JPEG, PNG10 MBPure whiteUp to 9

Text, infographics and AI by marketplace

The two rules that differ most, and the ones that decide how you can use generated images:

MarketplaceText and infographics on imagesAI-generated images
AmazonNot on the main image or swatches. Allowed on additional images, without reviews, star ratings, claims such as "free shipping", Amazon logos or badges.Allowed if accurate. Tag photorealistic AI-generated people with contains-synthetic-performer.
Amazon A+ ContentYes, without promotional language, pricing, competitor comparisons, warranty or shipping details, or QR codes.Same tag, or tick "AI-generated people" in A+ Content Manager.
EtsyNo specific rule in Etsy's image help page.Allowed for edits outside one required unedited photo. Etsy recommends noting AI edits in the description.
ShopifyYour store, your choice.No rule in Shopify's media help pages.
eBayNot allowed: no added text, artwork, marketing material or watermarks.Not addressed directly. Photos must represent the item accurately, and used items need real photos.
WalmartNo claims or promotional language, no other retailers' names or logos, English only.Must be truthful, accurate, not misleading and rights-compliant. No stock photos.
TikTok ShopNot allowed: no added logos, text, borders, watermarks or graphics.Allowed when accurate. No changing size, color, shape, features or quantity.

One photo, every marketplace

If you sell in more than one place, make one master set and export versions:

  1. Photograph the real product, sharp and evenly lit, at full camera resolution.
  2. Make a square master on pure white at 2200 x 2200 pixels or larger. Saved as a high-quality JPEG under 5 MB, it covers Walmart's 2200 pixel square, Amazon's zoom threshold, Shopify's 2048 recommendation, eBay's 1600 and TikTok Shop's 600 minimum.
  3. For Etsy, keep an unedited photo of the item on a real background in the listing, and check the first photo crops cleanly in Etsy's thumbnails.
  4. Make the secondary images once: lifestyle, on-model, details and scale. They work everywhere.
  5. Add infographics only where text is allowed: Amazon's additional images and A+ Content, your Shopify store, and Walmart if the text makes no claims and names no other retailer. Leave them off eBay and TikTok Shop.
  6. Before uploading to Amazon, tag any photorealistic AI-generated people.
Side table with a drawer on a white background, and the same table in a room with a woman holding flowers
One product, two jobs: the white-background shot for main images, and a lifestyle image made with Caspa for the other slots.

Where Caspa fits

Caspa turns one product photo into the rest of the set, with the product unchanged: white-background main images, lifestyle scenes, on-model shots, infographics, A+ content and product video. It runs in your browser and as a Shopify app. See Amazon product photography, Shopify product photography, or start from your category: clothing, jewelry, beauty, furniture, food and beverage and lifestyle product photography. For general sizing advice beyond marketplaces, read the best size for ecommerce product images.

Make every marketplace's images from one product photo

Upload a product shot and generate the white main image, lifestyle and on-model images, and infographics where the marketplace allows them.

Every new account gets 10 free credits, no credit card required. Paid plans come with a 30-day money-back guarantee.

Marketplace image requirements FAQ

Which image size works on every marketplace?

A square 2200 x 2200 pixel JPEG on pure white, under 5 MB, meets the size and background rules of Amazon, Walmart and TikTok Shop and the size recommendations of Shopify, eBay and Etsy. On a slow connection, Etsy uploads over 1 MB may not finish.

Which marketplaces require a white background?

Amazon (pure white, RGB 255, 255, 255, for the main image), Walmart (seamless white, though larger items may be shown in an expected environment) and TikTok Shop (pure white main image). eBay says white backgrounds are generally best. Etsy and Shopify have no background rule.

Can I use AI-generated product photos on marketplaces?

None of the help pages we checked ban AI images outright, and each sets accuracy rules. Etsy requires one unedited photo of the actual item, Amazon asks you to tag photorealistic AI-generated people, TikTok Shop bans AI that changes the product, and Walmart requires AI images to be truthful, accurate and not misleading.

Which marketplaces allow text on product images?

Amazon allows text and infographics on additional images but not on the main image. Walmart's rules don't ban text outright but rule out claims, promotional language, other retailers' names and languages other than English. eBay and TikTok Shop don't allow added text on product photos.

How often do marketplace image requirements change?

Often enough to check before a big upload. Walmart last updated its image guide on May 12, 2026, TikTok Shop's listing policy is dated September 1, 2026 and its AI image policy September 24, 2026. We checked every page here on October 27, 2026.

Sources

Every rule on these pages comes from the marketplace's own help or policy pages, checked on October 27, 2026. The full source list for each marketplace is at the bottom of its page: